War on Cops. . .

I know that the war on cops is a really hot button issue right now but coming from a largely police oriented family seeing this controversy unravel before my very eyes is extremely hard to watch. As a the daughter of a police officer I am proud to say that my father fights day in and day out to enforce the law and keep people safe.

I remember in elementary school when teachers would go around the classroom asking the profession of everyone’s parents, I was always the proudest in saying my father was a police officer in the NYPD. Even after he retired from the NYPD and became an Anne Arundel County police officer in Maryland I was never shy to admit that it was my father’s duty to keep the people of our town safe.

I remember when I was younger hearing all the stories of my dad putting those who broke the law in jail, catching bad guys, and going on car chases. He was my very own living superhero. I did not get to see him much while I was growing up because of his work schedule trying to provide for our family and loving every second of being able to protect people with his job but I knew he was making a difference.

Lately videos keep surfacing of “police brutality” and each video with its polarized set of comments gets harder and harder to watch. Every day my dad goes to work I am scared that he will be the next victim of a “police brutality” viral video just because he is trying to do his job or protect himself. It is impossible to be a police officer right now and feel safe. It is even hard to be family members of police officers without feeling the backlash. Not just anyone can become a police officer, they are special people placed in their position because they have a passion for protecting people and upholding the law. All this “black lives matter” and victimization of criminals needs to stop. If you commit a crime there will be a punishment no matter what color skin you have.

Everyday that my father goes to work I am still proud and I have no problem admitting that my dad is a police officer. As people begin to disrespect and disobey police officers it becomes more and more evident that you cannot sustain an environment in which there is no one to enforce the law. There needs to be repercussions when the law is broken, otherwise people will just assume they can get away with anything. People may hate on the law enforcement but when someone is breaking into your home they are the people you are going to call.

I hope that this war on police officers will end soon, because it puts so many innocent lives at risk. No matter what, I will always be proud to wear my dad’s shield numbers and I will never be afraid to admit that my father is a police officer.

Leave a comment